Busua is the capital of the Ahanta State. Historically, the Ahanta land was known as one of the richest areas on the coast of what is now Ghana. The country of Ahanta used to be a regional power with a confederacy of chiefdoms which came in early trading contact with the European nations settling on the Gold Coast.

The West Coast of Ghana has an old European fort in almost every bay, with some dating back to the 15th century. Several forts changed hands in bloody battles or by treaty, and all have fascinating history. Today, some have been restored and have a variety of uses, while some are ruins. Most are open to the public.

AKWIDAA – Fort Dorothea: Built by Branderburghers, 1685. In ruins today

ANKOBRA – Fort Eliza Cathargo: Built by the Dutch in 1702; only traces of ruins are now visible

AXIM – Fort St. Antonio: Portuguese trading post in 1502. Destroyed by the townspeople in 1514. Second Fort built by the Portuguese on present site in 1515

BEYIN – Fort Apollonian: Dutch Lodge C.1660. British Fort built between 1750 and 1770. Reconstructed between 1962 and 1968

BUTRE – Fort Batenstein: Swedish Post 1650-2. Dutch Fort built in 1656

DIXCOVE – Fort Metal Cross (Dick’s Cove). Work commenced in 1683. Restored 1954-66

PRINCESS' TOWN - Groot-Friederichsburg: Danish Lodge 1658. Fort built in 1683.

These forts sprang up since European traders had a demand for gold mined not far from the coast. By the end of the 19th century, Ahanta was one of a number of coastal states which included from the west: Axim, Ahanta, Jabu, Aguafo, Fete, Fante, Agona and Accra.

In August you can experience the the Ahanta people's celebration of the Kundum Festival

Kundum is a harvest festival with dancing, drumming, and feasting. It was in its original state a religious festival that was used to expel evil spirits from the town. Today, Kundum is celebrated as a way to preserve the culture of the Ahanta people and neighboring Nzema. The festival previously was one month long but, has recently been condensed to eight days.

(Source: National Commission on Culture)